Our Team

Engineers for a Sustainable World is run by a group of dedicated volunteers distributed across the United States. The Leadership Team provides support for our global chapter network and programs. We are supported by our volunteer Board of Directors and Advisory Board.


For ESW Chapters: Please send all inquiries through your regional Chapter Relations Coordinator (CRC).



Acting Executive Director
Sohn Cook
I ensure that everything runs smoothly and oversee all our major programs.      


Programs Coordinator
Aum Gandhi
Build Day Program Director
Zoe Bottcher
CommUnity Program Director
Alex Julius
Small Projects Grant Director
Laura Lilienkamp
I coordinate between all our major programs.  Learn more about the Build Day
program here.
Learn more about the CommUnity
program here.

Learn more about Small Project
Grants here.
Chapter Liaison Coordinator
Sanjay Jain
I serve as a direct liaison between chapters and our programs team.      

Conference & Events

Events Director
Alyssa Recinella
Event Partnerships Coordinator
Elisa Rivera
Content Coordinator
Maria Plessia
I oversee all events planned through ESW HQ.

I establish and maintain partnerships to facilitate large events. I create content for ESW events.  

Chapter Relations

The Chapter Relations Department at ESW-HQ is made up of a team of dedicated Chapter Relations Coordinators (CRCs) who act as the main connection between ESW chapters and ESW-HQ. They work with chapter leaders and members to create open communication between the chapter and the rest of the ESW network, make sure chapters know about current ESW-HQ initiatives, help chapter leaders with strategic challenges, and create useful content for student chapters. CRCs also reach out to new schools in target geographical areas to find faculty and students that may be interested in starting new ESW chapters. CRCs are instrumental in onboarding these new chapters and helping them get off to a successful start.

Chapter Relations Director
Sophie Hopps-Weber
New Chapter Development Director
Priya Donti

CRC: West
Sabeena Sebastian
CRC: West
Matthew Vu
As the Chapter Relations Director, I work with the Chapter Relations team on finding new ways to help our collegiate chapters thrive and succeed.

Want to start a new ESW student chapter? Talk to me. 

  • California Polytechnic Institute (San Luis Obispo)
  • California State University (Long Beach)
  • Harvey Mudd College
  • University of Arizona (Tuscon)
  • University of California (Irvine)
  • University of California (San Diego)

  • California State University (Los Angeles)
  • Stanford University
  • University of British Columbia (Vancouver)
  • University of California (Berkeley)
  • University of California (Merced)

CRC: Midwest
Carly Cohen
CRC: South-Atlantic +
Andrea Oaks
CRC: South-Central
Molly Patterson
CRC: Mid-Atlantic +
Emma Burke
  • Michigan State University
  • Northwestern University
  • Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology
  • University of Wisconsin (Madison)

  • American University
  • Eastern Mennonite University
  • Elizabethtown College
  • Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Miami-Dade College
  • Ohio State University
  • University of Akron
  • John Brown University
  • Texas A&M
  • University of Kentucky (Paducah)
  • University of Texas (Austin)
  • University of Texas (El Paso)

  • Carnegie Mellon University
  • Pennsylvania State University
  • Purdue University
  • Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
  • Stevens Institute of Technology
  • University of Pittsburgh

CRC: Mid-Atlantic
Amelia Veitch
CRC: New England +
Sarah Barr Engel
  • Clarkson University
  • Cornell University
  • Rochester Institute of Technology
  • University of Buffalo
  • University of Guelph
  • University of Rochester
  • Brown University
  • Midwestern State University
  • Smith College
  • University of Massachusetts (Lowell)
  • University of Rhode Island
  • University of St. Thomas

Professional Relations

Professional Members Coordinator
Mike Simmons
I help start up new professional chapters and oversee our professional member programming.      

Communications & Technology (CommTech)

Public Relations /
Marketing Director

Egoamaka Egbe
Technology Coordinator
Chris Kratzer
I lead our marketing and publicity
strategy at ESW.
I work as the IT department of HQ. I also update the website.     

Executive Board

Brian Lange
Board Chair
Kyle Gracey
Human Resources
Rena Chen
Strategic Planning
Brian Lange
Risk Management
Paulo Lopes
I lead the ESW Board of Directors, who work to advance the vision and direction of ESW-HQ. I bring perspective to ESW's vision as the Executive Director of Spark Scholars. I bring perspective to ESW's vision as a Data Scientist for IDEO. I bring perspective to ESW's vision as an Environmental Attorney.