Leadership

Our Team

Engineers for a Sustainable World is run by a group of dedicated volunteers distributed across the United States. The Leadership Team provides support for our global chapter network and programs. We are supported by our volunteer Board of Directors and Advisory Board.

For ESW Chapters: Please send all inquiries through your regional Chapter Relations Coordinator (CRC).

For General Inquiries: Please send all general inquiries to info@eswusa.org.

 


 

Development

The Development Department is in charge of individual giving, major gifts, and foundation relations.

 

Acting Executive Director
Sohn Cook
scook@eswusa.org

Development Manager
Vicky Martin
vmartin@eswusa.org

 


Programs

The Programs Department is in charge of running ESW's national and global programming such as Build Day, Project Grants, and the Resilient CommUnity Design Challenge.

 

Build Day Program Director
Zoe Bottcher
zbottcher@eswusa.org
CommUnity Program Director
Alex Julius
amjulius@eswusa.org
Project Grants Director
Laura Lilienkamp
llilienkamp@eswusa.org
Chapter Liaison Coordinator
Sanjay Jain
sjain@eswusa.org
Programs Coordinator
Thamee Thet
tothet@eswusa.org
Programs Coordinator
Sayan Basak
sbasak@eswusa.org

 


Conference & Events

The Conference and Events Department is in charge of developing ESW's largest event (the Biennial Conference), as well as planning regional, digital, and company events. The Biennial Conference brings together some of the brightest minds in sustainability and engineering to explore what it means to build a better world. Each conference is held at a different school within the ESW network to highlight the campus, community, and chapter accomplishments.

 

Events Director
Alyssa Owens
aowens@eswusa.org
Event Partnerships Coordinator
Elisa Rivera
erivera@eswusa.org
Content Coordinator
Maria Plessia
mplessia@eswusa.org

 


Chapter Relations

The Chapter Relations Department at ESW-HQ is made up of a team of dedicated Chapter Relations Coordinators (CRCs) who act as the main connection between ESW chapters and ESW-HQ.

They work with chapter leaders and members to do all of the following:

  • Maintain open communication between the chapter and the rest of the ESW network
  • Ensure chapters know about current ESW-HQ initiatives
  • Help chapter leaders with strategic challenges
  • Create useful content for student chapters

CRCs also reach out to new schools in target geographical areas to find faculty and students that may be interested in starting new ESW chapters. CRCs are instrumental in onboarding these new chapters and helping them get off to a successful start.

 

Chapter Relations Director
Sarah Barr Engel
sbarrengel@eswusa.org
New Chapter Development
Amelia Veitch
aveitch@eswusa.org
CRC: West
Sabeena Sebastian
ssebastian@eswusa.org
 
  • California Polytechnic Institute: San Luis Obispo (Cal Poly)
  • California State University: Long Beach (CSULB)
  • Harvey Mudd College
  • University of Arizona: Tuscon
  • University of California: Irvine
  • University of California: San Diego
  CRC: West
Matthew Vu
mvu@eswusa.org
 
  • California State University: Los Angeles (CSULA)
  • Stanford University
  • University of British Columbia: Vancouver (UBCV)
  • University of California: Berkeley
  • University of California: Merced
CRC: Midwest
Carly Cohen
ccohen@eswusa.org
 
  • Michigan State University
  • Northwestern University
  • Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology
  • University of Wisconsin: Madison
CRC: South-Atlantic +
Andrea Oaks
amoaks@eswusa.org
 
  • American University
  • Eastern Mennonite University
  • Elizabethtown College
  • Georgia Institute of Technology (Georgia Tech)
  • Miami-Dade College
  • Ohio State University
  • University of Akron
CRC: South-Central
Molly Patterson
mhpatterson@eswusa.org
 
  • John Brown University
  • Texas Agricultural and Mechanical University (Texas A&M)
  • University of Kentucky: Paducah
  • University of Texas: Austin (UT Austin)
  • University of Texas: El Paso (UTEP)
CRC: Mid-Atlantic +
Emma Burke
eburke@eswusa.org
 
  • Carnegie Mellon University
  • Pennsylvania State University (Penn State)
  • Purdue University
  • Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute (RPI)
  • Stevens Institute of Technology
  • University of Pittsburgh
CRC: Mid-Atlantic
Savanna Smith
sksmith@eswusa.org
 
  • Clarkson University
  • Cornell University
  • Rochester Institute of Technology (RIT)
  • University of Buffalo (UB)
  • University of Guelph
  • University of Rochester (UR)
CRC: New England +
Sarah Barr Engel
sbarrengel@eswusa.org
 
  • Brown University
  • Midwestern State University
  • Smith College
  • University of Massachusetts: Lowell
  • University of Rhode Island (URI)
  • University of St. Thomas

 


Professional Relations

The Professional Relations Department helps start new professional chapters and oversees our professional member programming.

 

Professional Members Coordinator
Mike Simmons
msimmons@eswusa.org

 


Communications & Technology (CommTech)

The Commtech Department handles everything from tech support to media development. 

 

CommTech Director
Sophie Hopps-Weber
shoppsweber@eswusa.org
Public Relations & Marketing Director
Egoamaka Egbe
eegbe@eswusa.org
Social Media Coordinator
Maria Zhra Ali
mzali@eswusa.org
Technology Coordinator
Chris Kratzer
ckratzer@eswusa.org
Branding Coordinator
Justin Feldis
jfeldis@eswusa.org

 


Board of Directors

The Board of Directors provides oversight and long-term planning for ESW.

 

Board Chair
Kyle Gracey
kgracey@eswusa.org
Human Resources
Rena Chen
rchen@eswusa.org
Brian Lange Strategic Planning
Brian Lange
blange@eswusa.org
Risk Management
Paulo Lopes
plopes@eswusa.org
Board Member
Hendrik van Hemmen
hvanhemmen@eswusa.org
Board Member
Sebastien Hoyos
shoyos@eswusa.org