Leadership

Our Team

Engineers for a Sustainable World is run by a group of dedicated volunteers distributed across the United States. The Leadership Team provides support for our global chapter network and programs. We are supported by our volunteer Board of Directors and Advisory Board.

 

For ESW Chapters: Please send all inquiries through your regional Chapter Relations Coordinator (CRC).


Development


     
Deputy Director /
Grants Manager

Sohn Cook
scook@eswusa.org
     
I ensure that everything runs smoothly and oversee all our major programs.      

Programs


 
Build Day Program Director
Zoe Bottcher
zbottcher@eswusa.org
CommUnity Program Director
Alexandria Julius
amjulius@eswusa.org
Small Projects Grant Director
Laura Lilienkamp
llilienkamp@eswusa.org
 
Learn more about the Build Day
program here.
Learn more about the CommUnity
program here.

Learn more about Small Project
Grants here.
 

Conference & Events


     
Conference & Events Director
Alyssa Recinella
arecinella@eswusa.org
     
I unite our membership for the biggest event on the year!

     

Chapter Relations

The Chapter Relations Department at ESW-HQ is made up of a team of dedicated Chapter Relations Coordinators (CRCs) who act as the main connection between ESW chapters and ESW-HQ. They work with chapter leaders and members to create open communication between the chapter and the rest of the ESW network, make sure chapters know about current ESW-HQ initiatives, help chapter leaders with strategic challenges, and create useful content for student chapters. CRCs also reach out to new schools in target geographical areas to find faculty and students that may be interested in starting new ESW chapters. CRCs are instrumental in onboarding these new chapters and helping them get off to a successful start.


Chapter Relations Director
Sophie Hopps-Weber
shoppsweber@eswusa.org
New Chapter Development Director
Priya Donti
pdonti@eswusa.org

CRC: West
Blakeley Ficenec
bficenec@eswusa.org
CRC: West
Jimmy Luong
jvluong@eswusa.org
As the Chapter Relations Director, I work with the Chapter Relations team on finding new ways to help our collegiate chapters thrive and succeed.




Want to start a new ESW student chapter? Talk to me. 






  • California Polytechnic Institute (San Luis Obispo)
  • California State University (Long Beach)
  • Harvey Mudd College
  • University of Arizona (Tuscon)
  • University of California (Irvine)
  • University of California (San Diego)


  • California State University (Los Angeles)
  • Stanford University
  • University of British Columbia (Vancouver)
  • University of California (Berkeley)
  • University of California (Merced)


CRC: Midwest
Jorge Izar
jizar@eswusa.org
CRC: South-Atlantic
Andrea Oaks
amoaks@eswusa.org
CRC: South-Central
Molly Patterson
mhpatterson@eswusa.org
CRC: Mid-Atlantic
Troy Salvatore
tsalvatore@eswusa.org
  • Ohio State University
  • Purdue University
  • Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology
  • University of St. Thomas


  • American University
  • Eastern Mennonite University
  • Elizabethtown College
  • Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Kennesaw State University
  • Miami-Dade College
  • John Brown University
  • Texas A&M
  • University of Kentucky (Paducah)
  • University of Texas (Austin)
  • University of Texas (El Paso)


  • Pennsylvania State University
  • Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
  • Robert Morris University
  • Stevens Institute of Technology
  • University of Akron
  • University of Pittsburgh


CRC: Midwest
Rachel Starr
rstarr@eswusa.org
CRC: Mid-Atlantic
Amelia Veitch
aveitch@eswusa.org
CRC: New England
Sarah Barr Engel
sbarrengel@eswusa.org
International Development Coordinator
Sebastien Selarque
sselarque@eswusa.org
  • Illinois Institute of Technology
  • Michigan State University
  • Northwestern University
  • University of Wisconsin (Madison)
  • Clarkson University
  • Cornell University
  • Rochester Institute of Technology
  • University of Buffalo
  • University of Guelph
  • University of Rochester
  • Smith College
  • University of Bridgeport
  • University of Massachusetts (Lowell)
  • University of Rhode Island
I work to be a contact point of the feasibility and logistics of developing international chapters.

Professional Relations


   
Professional Members Coordinator
Yamit Lavi
ylavi@eswusa.org
Professional Relations Coordinator
Jackson Coleman
jcoleman@eswusa.org
   
I help start up new professional chapters and oversee our professional member programming.      

Communications & Technology (CommTech)


     
Public Relations /
Marketing Director

Egoamaka Egbe
eegbe@eswusa.org
     
I lead our marketing and publicity
strategy at ESW.
     

Executive Board


Kyle Gracey

Kyle uses his scientific, policy and communications experience to advance climate change and energy issues. As the Natural Resources Lead for PreScouter, he helps companies find sustainability technologies to better their products and services. As an independent digital and strategy consultant, Kyle supports sustainability organizations like the U.S. Climate Action Network and U.S. Society for Ecological Economics. His other positions have included: Research Scientist, Science Coordinator and Interim Communications Manager at natural resources accounting nonprofit Global Footprint Network; Energy & Climate Fellow at Worldwatch Institute; Executive Director at youth environmental justice nonprofit SustainUS; Environmental Policy Analyst at the U.S. Department of Transportation; and Science & Environment Consultant at Gade Environmental Group. He has significant international policy experience, having participated in numerous sustainability negotiations in the United Nations and other global meetings around the world. He has participated in the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change for ten years and was a part of the Paris Agreement negotiations, working with Climate Action Network – International. Kyle also co-founded the youth constituency at the UN climate change negotiations. Kyle also serves as chair or former chair of several other nonprofit boards. He holds degrees in ecological economics, biochemistry & biophysics, and geophysical sciences & public policy. He is earning his PhD in Engineering and Public Policy from Carnegie Mellon University.