Leadership

Our Team

Engineers for a Sustainable World is run by a group of dedicated volunteers distributed across the United States. The Leadership Team provides support for our global chapter network and programs. We are supported by our volunteer Board of Directors and Advisory Board.

 

For ESW Chapters: Please send all inquiries through your regional Chapter Relations Coordinator (CRC).

 


Development


     
Deputy Director /
Grants Manager

Sohn Cook
scook@eswusa.org
     
I ensure that everything runs smoothly and oversee all our major programs.      

Programs


Programs Coordinator
Aum Gandhi
agandhi@eswusa.org
Build Day Program Director
Zoe Bottcher
zbottcher@eswusa.org
CommUnity Program Director
Alex Julius
amjulius@eswusa.org
Small Projects Grant Director
Laura Lilienkamp
llilienkamp@eswusa.org
I coordinate between all our major programs.  Learn more about the Build Day
program here.
Learn more about the CommUnity
program here.

Learn more about Small Project
Grants here.
     
Chapter Liaison Coordinator
Sanjay Jain
sjain@eswusa.org
     
I serve as a direct liaison between chapters and our programs team.      

Conference & Events


 
Events Director
Alyssa Recinella
arecinella@eswusa.org
Event Partnerships Coordinator
Elisa Rivera
erivera@eswusa.org
Content Coordinator
Maria Plessia
mplessia@eswusa.org
 
I oversee all events planned through ESW HQ.

I establish and maintain partnerships to facilitate large events. I create content for ESW events.  

Chapter Relations

The Chapter Relations Department at ESW-HQ is made up of a team of dedicated Chapter Relations Coordinators (CRCs) who act as the main connection between ESW chapters and ESW-HQ. They work with chapter leaders and members to create open communication between the chapter and the rest of the ESW network, make sure chapters know about current ESW-HQ initiatives, help chapter leaders with strategic challenges, and create useful content for student chapters. CRCs also reach out to new schools in target geographical areas to find faculty and students that may be interested in starting new ESW chapters. CRCs are instrumental in onboarding these new chapters and helping them get off to a successful start.


Chapter Relations Director
Sophie Hopps-Weber
shoppsweber@eswusa.org
New Chapter Development Director
Priya Donti
pdonti@eswusa.org

CRC: West
Sabeena Sebastian
ssebastian@eswusa.org
CRC: West
Matthew Vu
mvu@eswusa.org
As the Chapter Relations Director, I work with the Chapter Relations team on finding new ways to help our collegiate chapters thrive and succeed.




Want to start a new ESW student chapter? Talk to me. 






  • California Polytechnic Institute (San Luis Obispo)
  • California State University (Long Beach)
  • Harvey Mudd College
  • University of Arizona (Tuscon)
  • University of California (Irvine)
  • University of California (San Diego)


  • California State University (Los Angeles)
  • Stanford University
  • University of British Columbia (Vancouver)
  • University of California (Berkeley)
  • University of California (Merced)


CRC: Midwest
Jorge Izar
jizar@eswusa.org
CRC: South-Atlantic
Andrea Oaks
amoaks@eswusa.org
CRC: South-Central
Molly Patterson
mhpatterson@eswusa.org
CRC: Mid-Atlantic
Emma Burke
eburke@eswusa.org
  • Ohio State University
  • Purdue University
  • Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology
  • University of St. Thomas


  • American University
  • Eastern Mennonite University
  • Elizabethtown College
  • Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Miami-Dade College
  • John Brown University
  • Texas A&M
  • University of Kentucky (Paducah)
  • University of Texas (Austin)
  • University of Texas (El Paso)


  • Pennsylvania State University
  • Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
  • Stevens Institute of Technology
  • University of Akron
  • University of Pittsburgh


 
CRC: Midwest
Rachel Starr
rstarr@eswusa.org
CRC: Mid-Atlantic
Amelia Veitch
aveitch@eswusa.org
CRC: New England
Sarah Barr Engel
sbarrengel@eswusa.org
 
  • Michigan State University
  • Northwestern University
  • University of Wisconsin (Madison)
  • Clarkson University
  • Cornell University
  • Rochester Institute of Technology
  • University of Buffalo
  • University of Guelph
  • University of Rochester
  • Smith College
  • University of Massachusetts (Lowell)
  • University of Rhode Island
 

Professional Relations


     
Professional Members Coordinator
Mike Simmons
msimmons@eswusa.org
     
I help start up new professional chapters and oversee our professional member programming.      

Communications & Technology (CommTech)


   
Public Relations /
Marketing Director

Egoamaka Egbe
eegbe@eswusa.org
Technology Coordinator
Chris Kratzer
ckratzer@eswusa.org
   
I lead our marketing and publicity
strategy at ESW.
I work as the IT department of HQ. I also update the website.     

Executive Board


Brian Lange
Board Chair
Kyle Gracey
kgracey@eswusa.org
Human Resources
Rena Chen
rchen@eswusa.org
Strategic Planning
Brian Lange
blange@eswusa.org
Risk Management
Paulo Lopes
plopes@eswusa.org
I lead the ESW Board of Directors, who work to advance the vision and direction of ESW-HQ. I bring perspective to ESW's vision as the Executive Director of Spark Scholars. I bring perspective to ESW's vision as a Data Scientist for IDEO. I bring perspective to ESW's vision as an Environmental Attorney.
     
Treasurer
Kurt Davis, Jr.
kdavis@eswusa.org
     
I bring perspective to ESW's vision as an Investment Banker.